Summer Comfort Food

There are a few weird bugs going around Lynchburg right now, and I picked up one of them. It started with a fever and headache, then moved into my throat, now it’s in my ears and nose. I was miserable for a couple of days, but yesterday was much better. I don’t know about you, but when I’m sick, I just want comfort food. There are certain foods from my childhood that my mom used to serve up that seem to make everything right in my world. One meal that sticks out in my mind is oven fried chicken, steamed squash w/cheese on top, green beans, and dinner rolls. Not so much healthy but…oh well 🙂 I made my own twist on this dinner last night. Of course, in my usual fashion, I invited over friends. As usual, Aaron managed to find his way to my house. Remember how I said someday a girl would get smart and snatch him up? FINALLY someone did, so I let him bring his new lady friend Chelsea over to enjoy this meal with us. She is great. Chelsea’s roommate Byrd came too. She’s hilarious! Oh, and last but most definitely not least, my rooms Beth is back in town. We had a great night of food and fellowship. I didn’t get any food pictures this time, because everyone ate it before I could even snap a picture! I’ll stop boring you with the details, but here are the recipes 🙂

Ritz Chicken Fingers (Martha Edition)

1 sleeve Ritz crackers, finely crushed

2 tsp garlic salt

1/2 tsp cayenne pepper

2 tsp parsley flakes

1 egg, beaten

1 pkg chicken tenderloins

Combine all dry ingredients.

Dip chicken pieces in egg, then in dry mixture and coat.

Bake at 350 for 20-25 minutes or until cooked through. This is a healthier alternative to chicken tenders you can buy at the store. They are really tasty too!

Summer Squash Casserole

3 medium-sized zucchini or yellow squash (or a combo of the 2), cut into small chunks

1/4 c. chopped green onion

8 oz sour cream

a dash of cayenne pepper

a dash of seasoning salt

2 tsp garlic salt

2 eggs, beaten

1 sleeve crushed Ritz crackers

1 bag shredded cheddar cheese

2 tbsp melted butter

Throw the squash into a pot with a little water on the stove for like 8 mins just to soften it.

Drain the water, set squash aside.

Combine sour cream, green onion, garlic salt, cayenne pepper, and seasoning salt. Taste it to make sure you can taste all the flavors…and add a sprinkle of anything else you might need. Then add in the 2 eggs, half of the crackers and half of the cheese. Mix it with the squash, and spread into a 9×13 pan. Cover with remaining cheese and crackers. Drizzle with melted butter.  Cover the pan with foil and bake at 350 for 35 minutes or until casserole is set.  For the last 10 mins of baking, take the foil off to let the crackers get extra crispy on top.

I also made my Sautéed Green Beans that I made a few months back with my Caribbean Craze dinner. They’re always a favorite.

For dessert, I cheated again. I made Krusteaz chocolate chip cookies, and then we warmed them up and topped them with ice cream. Coffee ice cream. It was sooo yum.
Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

